While watching the Stanford (Big power team) game the other night I noticed they were running power with to the TB from the I by pitching him the ball.     I started to think hummmmm can this be done off of motion to a wing especially once teams start selling out to stop rocket.    At first I thought pitching it to the A back and running 2 power.

As I type this wonder if the B back going in motion  and hitting the "2" edge would work too.  We did something similar but handed  the ball off to the b back.   The Delaware guys called it "M" motion.

Thoughts?

22 minutes ago, coachmorris said:

coach we are a huge power team having a hard time picturing what you are describing

Coach here's my 1st thought.  Sorry for the rough drawing, I'm still learning how to use my new Microsoft surface.

rock power.jpg

Coach

That play is a staple of the double wing teams and the QB not only pitches it he leads it.

Coach Wright

super power.  

1 hour ago, Karjaw said:

Coach

That play is a staple of the double wing teams and the QB not only pitches it he leads it.

Coach Wright

I saw a Webinar from Dwayne Alexander and he presented this.  The motion back has to adjust to where he is 1 yard behind the FB and that's it!!  Search all over Glazier and you might find it.

1 hour ago, coachmcg said:

I saw a Webinar from Dwayne Alexander and he presented this.  The motion back has to adjust to where he is 1 yard behind the FB and that's it!!  Search all over Glazier and you might find it.

We ran that a few years ago.  Blocked it like base, ran to the 1/5.  We called it rocket blast.

we run superpower.  I have run a little rocket (a long time ago).  We hurt people with power keep - that way the motion was exactly the same and the QB just ran power. Very good play.

We have practiced a similar play.  What we thought was that if the DE (#1) was going to widen with our motion, that it would be easy to kick him out.